2212017 Press Release Closing Section 8 Waitlist





Girard, KS – The Southeast Kansas Community Action Program (SEK-CAP) will close the waiting list for the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) program on March 17th, 2017 at 12:00pm.  Applicants should be aware that the waiting period to receive rental assistance could take twelve (12) to eighteen (18) months.  This waiting period is only an estimate and could change, depending on the federal program budget.

The Section 8 HCV Program assists qualifying individuals and families with rental subsidies, based on household income.  Program participants must lease within SEK-CAP’s HCV Program service area, which includes the counties of Allen, Bourbon, Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson, and Woodson.

To potentially qualify for assistance, an applicant’s income must fall below the HUD Section 8 Program guidelines, which is 50% of the Area Median Income.  The income guidelines vary by county and are based on family size. 

SEK-CAP will accept applications until Friday, March 17th at 12:00pm.  Applications may be submitted online, www.sekcap.housingmanager.com.  If you are unable to complete the online application, please call our office to complete the application by phone.

 For more information about this program, please call (620)724-8204.  This is an Equal Housing Opportunity.



The Southeast Kansas Community Action Program is a 501 (c) (3) private, non-profit organization serving twelve southeast Kansas counties. SEK-CAP is headquartered in Girard, and was created in 1966 to combat poverty. The organizational mission is to address the causes and effects of poverty by uniting staff, individuals, families, and community partners to provide quality, comprehensive services through compassionate, respectful relationships. Programs include Head Start, Early Head Start, Housing, Community Engagement, and General Public Transportation. Contact the SEK-CAP central office at 401 N. Sinnet or by dialing 620.724.8204.  Visit the website at www.sek-cap.com.


Timi Myers
Housing Director
620.724.8204 Ext. 1004
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


SEK CAP Public Auction 2018

For more information select the link below:


Reading Aloud With Congresswoman Jenkins


Reading Aloud With Congresswoman Jenkins


During the last week of National Read Aloud Month, from March 28th - 31st, SEK-CAP accepted the challenge by the National Head Start Association to Read Aloud with Congress!  Head Start programs across the country were asked to invite their Members of Congress to join in on the fun and read-aloud with their local Head Start classroom.  Members of Congress were spending this week in their local communities and this was a great opportunity to showcase our Head Start classroom and all the fun activities we’ve been doing during the Read-Aloud Challenge.


Congresswoman Lynn Jenkins, Representative for Kansas' second congressional district, accepted our invitation and visited the Ft. Scott Preschool Center to read Bill Martin Jr.'s "Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?"  She then toured all of the classrooms, visiting with the teachers and children.  SEK-CAP staff member, Charlotte Thompson, explains the Head Start mealtime routine.


In other news about Congresswoman Jenkins and her support for our programs, the National Community Action Foundation (NCAF) continues to make terrific progress on the Community Action network’s CSBG (Community Services Block Grant) reauthorization bill – House Resolution (HR) 1655. In fact, they picked up eleven new cosponsors over the last week! Included within the latest group is Congresswoman Lynn Jenkins! NCAF now has 101 co-sponsors for the CSBG reauthorization bill HR 1655, including 54 Democrats and 47 Republicans; truly a bipartisan effort.



Thank You Congresswoman Lynn Jenkins for your support!


Read more: Reading Aloud with Congresswoman Jenkins


Girard – Southeast Kansas Community Action Program (SEK-CAP), a 501(c) 3 not for profit agency, is seeking names for consideration as a candidate for election to the SEK-CAP Governing Board of Directors. As a Community Action Agency, SEK-CAP conforms to federal legislation requiring a tri-partite board of directors, with equal representation from the private sector, the low-income sector, and elected public officials.

SEK-CAP has one vacancy on the nine-member board and is seeking one qualified individual to represent the private sector. Names of interested candidates submitted for consideration will represent the views and interests of the general public of Southeast Kansas.
Furthermore, they must:
• Express interest in assisting disadvantaged citizens by taking a leadership role.
• Demonstrate a strong interest in community capacity building around the issues of poverty.
• Have a history of accomplishment in community services.
• Reside within SEK-CAP’s twelve-county service area, which includes the counties of Allen, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Crawford, Elk, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson, and Woodson.

Interested individuals may submit their name for consideration by printing and filling out the “SEK-CAP Board of Directors Nomination Form” found at, www.sek-cap.com, under the “About Us-Board of Directors” section. Submissions must be transmitted electronically to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or mailed to SEK-CAP, P.O. Box 128, Girard, Kansas, 66743, and postmarked before February 3, 2016.

The board position is non-salaried. The full board meets at minimum six times annually in Girard, on the third Thursday of alternating months, beginning in January, from 2:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Board members may be reimbursed for travel and other reasonable expenses incurred while attending meetings and transacting the business of SEK-CAP.

Question about this governance opportunity and the election process may be directed to Steven Lohr, Chief Executive Officer, by email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. , or by calling 620-724-8204, extension 1015.

Alternately, contact the Governing Board Chairperson, Stephen Fincher, at                                        This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Previously submitted nomination forms are maintained on a waiting list and considered by the Nominating Committee whenever there is a vacancy.